District Governor 5190 Presentation to the Club
Aug 09, 2021
Anita Daniels
District Governor 5190 Presentation to the Club

Anita joined Rotary in 1994 in District 5180, with the Rotary Club of Marysville. In 1995 she transferred to District 5190 and the Rotary Club of Grass Valley, when her employer transferred her home to Grass Valley.  At the club level she has served as Club Director, Foundation chair, International chair, Membership chair, Club Service chair, and Facilities chair. She served as Club President in 2011-2012. At the District level she has served as Group Study Exchange chair, Alumni chair, served on the Grants committee, House of Friendship co-chair under the District Conference committee, and as co-chair of Sergeant-at-Arms. Currently she is the Assistant Governor for Area 4. She is also a Bequest Society member and a Paul Harris Fellow +3.

Anita grew up in Western Nevada County, California. She attended local schools where she met her husband Don. As an Accounting major at Sierra College, she had planned to be an accountant, but became a banker instead. Her banking career spanned 55 years, until she retired in 2017 to be a full-time Rotarian. She learned the importance of “Service Above Self”, having volunteered in numerous community organizations including, President and Director of the Grass Valley/Nevada County Chamber of Commerce, President and Treasurer of the Grass Valley Downtown Association, Treasurer of the Sierra College Coordinating Council for Nevada County, Secretary of the Nevada County Law Enforcement and Fire Protection Council, and as a member of Toastmasters, and Beale AFB Community Council.

Currently she serves as Board Secretary on the Western Sierra Medical Clinic, as Treasurer of the Nevada County Horsemen Inc., and as a Director on the Nevada County Fairgrounds Foundation, besides her commitment to Rotary. She has received numerous awards from the community including Citizen of the Year, Woman of the Year, Family of the Year, Rotary’s Service Above Self Award, as well as two Rotary Community Service Awards.